my photos: the best of 2011

For the year of 2011, I attempted to take a photo everyday.

I didn’t make it.

But, I did take a photo 297 days during the year of 2011. And most of the those days I took more than one photo. A few of those days, everything came together and I captured a special picture. Some are special to me because of the content. I may have captured a silly grin, loving glance, or a special first. Others are special because I captured a beautiful picture SOC (straight-out-of-camera). While I love to play with digital files in photoshop or Lightroom, I am most thrilled when my original photo needs no editing. Finally, some are special to me because they capture the normalness of my life. They may include books I’ve read, recipes I’ve tried or a weather event such as a blizzard.

Here are my favorites of 2011:

Here’s a glimpse of our school day.

Christmas at Silver Dollar City

One of my chickens has an attitude.

The wagon at my parents home.

My sweet Joseph. (To be honest, this is not by favorite picture of Joseph, but JD loves it and wanted it included. )

A trip to the symphony with my boys.

At Pomme de Terre Lake.

Jesse swinging.

To celebrate the closing of 2011, I joined a blog hop, sponsored by Capture Your 365. For most of the year, I have had the pleasure of sharing my life with a group talented photographers. Even though we’ve never met face-to-face, I know their lives and can recognize their children. To me, it is exciting to see their lives captured through their camera. I can experience bitter cold snowstorms in Canada, urban life in Sacramento, a Lake Michigan summer, or the beautiful colors of the Pacific Northwest.

Please join me today by visiting their blogs:

Katrina – Capture Your 365
Gabi – Gabi Rytirova
Janine – The Sweetest Dreams
Kathleen – Taking Pictures, Enjoying Life

7 thoughts on “my photos: the best of 2011

  1. Wow, Kelly! I just love your faves of 2011! Your photography is outstanding! I feel so blessed to be part of that online family that gets to have a peek into your life. It has been great to get to know you through your photos. Look forward to more in 2012!

  2. Kelly, your photos are beautiful and a wonderful collection of your day to day life. I”m looking forward to peeking into your world a little more in 2012.

  3. Kelly! You made it! You have 297 photos more than if you hadn’t started. I love your photos and LOVED seeing so many of my favorites were yours! Your school day photo is one of my absolute favorites (and should be in the CY365 post).

    Thank you for being part of CY365

  4. I love these, Kelly. I didn’t make even 297 as you did but I treasure each day I decided to take a photo. Thank you for letting us all to have a peek into your everyday life.

  5. 297 is HUGE!

    How you caught the ropes of the swing perfectly parallel to the ground amazes me every time I see that photo.

    I have enjoyed every minute of getting to know you and your family. Looking forward to enjoying more family sharing in 2012!

  6. I know I missed days in my P365 project but it’s still more than I would have taken. Your boys are adorable! Looking forward to being a part of your community. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

