I just found

macaroni and cheese in the bathroom sink.  Hmm.  I’m thinking the culprit is a devious three year old who was told he couldn’t have anything else until he finished is macaroni.  By the way, the macaroni was left over from the dinner last night.  He normally devours the stuff, but this time I dressed it up with chicken, black beans and queso.  He was determined not to eat the beans . . . I am determined he will eat them.  I’ve really upped our bean consumption in an effort to eat a bit more protein, save some $$, and save the planet (that last is in response to all the newspaper articles encouraging us to eat meatless meals once a week).  Anyway, I’ve been hiding them in salads, quesadillas, other veggie sides, or rice.

Speaking of beans and rice, anybody have a good beans and rice recipe?  I’ve got a couple I’ve printed off the internet, but I’m open to all sorts of ways to add beans to our diet!

2 thoughts on “I just found

  1. Here’s a recipe I’m trying this week:

    Red Beans and Coconut Rice
    1 Tbs oil
    1/2 cup diced onion
    3 cloves garlic, minced
    3 cups cooked rice
    2 15-oz cans of kidney beans or small red beans if you can find them, drained and rinsed
    1 15-oz can coconut milk
    1/2 tsp thyme
    salt and pepper to taste

    Heat the oil in a large pot and cook the onion until soft, then add the garlic and cook a few more minutes. Add everything else and bring to a simmer. Cook about 15 minutes, letting the rice absorb most of the coconut milk

    Coconut milk isn’t exactly cheap, but I figure if I use dried beans rather than canned ones, I’m offsetting the cost a bit. I’ve been craving a coconut bean and rice dish lately, and this is cheaper and less time-consuming than the Trinidadian Beans and Rice recipe I usually make. If you’d like that one I can send it to you, too. It’s a bit labor-intensive, but it’s so, so, so good.

    If you come up with some good recipes, let me know! We’ve been trying to eat more beans, too (much to Amélie’s dismay. That girl loves meat.)

    Oh, I just thought of another really simple bean recipe I make for lunch a lot. I rinse a bag of black beans, cover them w/ water, and then cook them in my crock pot overnight on low. Then I mix the beans with cream cheese, top it with salsa, and serve it on a whole wheat tortilla. It’s really yummy!!

  2. I forgot to respond to your email question about the coconut milk, so I thought I’d do it here: you find canned coconut milk in the Asian aisle. I sent Matt to the store for coconut milk this week and he came home w/ cream of coconut. Not the same thing! (although it will make some tasty Pina Coladas this summer!)

Leave a Reply

