a lesson in mercy and grace

A few days ago I was greeted by a screaming Jonah. He was crying so hard, I just couldn’t understand him. After quickly looking him over and determining there was no major injury, I made out the word “Jacob.”

Hmm.  Now to find Jacob.  I found Jacob crying in the basement.  Here is how the conversation went:

Me: What happened?

J: I was mean to Jonah.  Really mean.  Really, really mean, Mom.

Me: Oh, I see. Why?

J: I was really angry with him.

Me: Did he do anything to you? Did he take anything from you?

J: No.

Me: Uh huh.

J: I’m so sorry Mom.

Me: You’ll have to tell Jonah that you are sorry, as well as God.   When you’ve done that, you may go play.

J: But I don’t deserve to play. I was mean Mom.  I know I was. I deserve to be disciplined.

Me: Yep, you are right about that.  But let’s talk about mercy for a second. Mercy is not getting what you deserve.  Grace is getting what you don’t deserve.  God gives us both daily as we make mistakes because He loves us and He wants us to grow to be more like His Son Jesus.  So for today, I want you to have a taste of that.  God gives me grace and mercy when I mess up, and I want to pass some on to you.

J: Whoa. God is really good, Mom, isn’t He?

Me: Yep, Jacob, He really is.

One thought on “a lesson in mercy and grace

Leave a Reply

