Three little monkeys jumping off the bed . . .

It goes like this. I was fixing dinner. The boys were playing in Jonah and Jesse’s room. They were building Legos and playing action figures.

Thump. Rattling of the china cubbard.

I yell up the stairs, “No jumping off the bed. No jumping on the bed. Make that no jumping at all.”

“Yes, ma’m,” replies each of the boys.

Thump. Rattling of the china cubbard.

I walk up the stairs, open the door, and say, “NO jumping off the bed. If you jump off the bed again, I will discipline you.”

“Yes, ma’m,” replies each of the boys.

“Maybe you should read some books . . . ”

“Yes, ma’m,” replies each of the boys.

Meanwhile, JD gets home from work, and I fill him in on the situation.

Thump. Rattling of the china cubbard.

JD heads up stairs. Long, long silence. Slowly, each boy comes downstairs, one at a time, crying and saying, “I’m sorry for disobeying you, mommy. Will you please forgive me?”

Later JD tells me that when he opened the door, Jacob was STANDING ON THE DRESSER! I’m stunned. That’s really not like Jacob. How could my children be doing something like that? I mean, we have pretty tight rules about how you treat the furniture and what is appropriate for inside play. Jumping is for outside and the basement . . .

Good news: it is supposed to be 60 degrees on Saturday.

Disclaimer: I write this knowing that someone is going to think that my children are out of control. In fact, a little while ago, I might have thought that if I’d read this about someone else’s kids. Trust me on this, my energetic, vivacious boys have humbled me. I often feel like I’ve always got my thumb on top of them saying “no” to every request, even every movement.

One thought on “Three little monkeys jumping off the bed . . .

  1. That sounds like my house, and we as well have strict rules about inside play and outside. Where do they come up with these ideas?

Leave a Reply

