affording a college education

For the third time . . . .

I’ve been thinking a lot about how Hubby and I are going to afford our boys’ education.  Yesterday I found this calculator.  For Jacob to attend a 4-year, in-state, public college will be nearly $110k.  To prepare for that we need to save $450 a month for the next 10 years.  Take that times 3 to include the other boys. How will we ever afford that???

Hubby and I made it through college debt-free thanks to some full-ride scholarships and his REALLY hard work at his lawncare business.  But unless are boys are fortunate  to land that kind of scholarship, even hard work won’t be enough to raise that kind of money.

We have 40 beautiful acres here, already divided into several pastures and smaller pens, plus multiple  lean-tos (I think that is what they are called–they are open on one side), two big barns, and a chicken coop.  SO, we’ve been dreaming about how to use this place to help the boys make money to pay for college.  Here’s what’s on the list so far: cows, alpacas, eggs, farmer’s market (veggies), and fresh-cut flowers.  We are hoping to grow slowly into this, so that as they boys grow so will our little farmstead.

What do ya think?  What are you doing to prepare for your kiddos college years?  If you had all the money, would you pay for your child’s complete education?   I’m not sure that I would.  I mean those care-free college days sound nice, just letting the kid concentrate on studying.  But, I think my boys will value it more if they have to work for it, invest in it, own it.

One thought on “affording a college education

  1. Hmmm, I don’t think we will pay for all of it. Oh, and I think fresh cut flowers would be nice. Josh says he won’t come to your house if you have alpaca’s, b/c they don’t look right.

Leave a Reply

