at the risk of offending someone

I’m starting to believe I could be a Democrat. Shshshsh . . .

Maybe not. I don’t believe in big gov’t. But it doesn’t seem like society can police itself, does it? I mean, healthcare is ridiculous now, CEOs paid extravagantly, the poor set aside. I could be a Democrat on those things.

I don’t see why we are in Iraq.

But what about personal responsibility? Why does the gov’t have to fix things for people who haven’t been responsible? Just because a person made a poor decision to refinance their house with a ridiculous mortgage, why should we bail them out?

I don’t believe school prayer should be held, and but do believe personal prayer not banned. I don’t really believe Intelligent Design belongs in the classroom, although I definitely agree that evolution theory should be taught as that, a theory.

I believe life should be perserved at all costs, in the womb, or for the old and sick, unless they have a living will.

I believe that marriage is between a man and a woman.

Ok, so maybe I couldn’t be a Democrat. But I’m definitely not thrilled with Republican party either. In fact, I am a bit frustrated with the whole two-party political machine. I’m tired of the press and the spin that is put on everything. I just finished watching the TV series, West Wing, and maybe it has made me a bit idealistic. I really just want to bury my head in the sand and not pull it out until next December.

That hardly seems responsible, does it?

3 thoughts on “at the risk of offending someone

  1. Wow. I have been thinking these exact same thoughts for the past week or so. I mean, EXACT. I just finished reading “Blue Like Jazz”. I told Jill it didn’t turn me into a Democrat, but it sure made me think! I won’t go into here, but I just wanted to let you know that we are totally on the same page.

  2. Becki, I’ve read all Dennis Miller’s books now, and I find them refreshing. I want to reread Blue Like Jazz, but I think I’ll work on all those other books first! 🙂

Leave a Reply

