Et tu, Brute?

Et tu, Brute?” (“You too, Brutus?”, “Even you, Brutus?” or “And you, Brutus?”) is a Latin phrase often used poetically to represent the last words of Julius Caesar. The quotation is widely used in Western culture as an epitome of betrayal.

Jesse: Mommy, Mommy, Jonah tear my paper! Jonah tear my paper!

Mommy: (sternly) Jonah, did you tear Jesse’s paper?

Jonah: Jacob AND me tore Jesse’s paper.

Jesse’s face wrinkles up in surprise and confusion, then asks in the softest, sweetest voice: You Japub? Why you tear my paper Japub? Why Japub, why?

********

Also involving Jesse this week:

When I went to pick him up from his classroom on Sunday, he just smiled at me from across the room and said, “Mommy, I wait for Daddy to come. ”

“Uh, no. Your coming with me.”

“No, Mommy, I wait right here for now.”

Putting my books down, trying to keep the smile off my face, “Jesse, come now or you will be disciplined at home.”

“Alright Mommy, I’m tuming (coming).”

Leave a Reply

