Week 3: Colossians 3:16-17

It is time for the memory verse for this week. I’ve heard from a couple of you, I know you’re busy! Remember, you don’t have to memorize my verse, if you are already memorizing a verse for another Bible study or class, count that! Also, if it is a busy week, review a verse you learned as a child; you’ll find it much easier to memorize the second time around and it won’t require as much time as a new verse would.

Friends, I just want to internalize God’s Word so I can live it! Several years ago I was teaching a Bible study to a small group of women. It was so difficult for me. I was nervous to be in front of those gals. Even when teaching 200 college kids at Univ. of Houston, I was never rattled. Why? I knew the material. Now granted, teaching calculus is not the same as teaching the Word of God, but I know calculus. And now I want to know the Word of God. But this is so much more exciting because it changes me.  I responded softer to my children this week when reminded of last weeks verse, be slow to anger.  

Colossians 3:16-17

Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hyms and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God! Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks Him through the Father.  

Leave a Reply

