A Challenge

I began earnestly memorizing Scripture about four years ago. Off and on all my life I memorized verses and passages, but it wasn’t until I started using a system to review them that I really hid them in my heart. Now I’ve got about 300 verses memorized. Here’s what I do:

  1. Memorize the verse.
  2. Say it daily for 10 days.
  3. Say it once a week for 10 weeks.
  4. Say it once a month for a year.
  5. Say it every other month for the rest of my life!

I write the verse(s) on a notecard and place it in my 3×5 notecard box. The box has these dividers in it: verses to learn, daily, this week, next week, this month, and next month. As I recite my verses, I mark a tally on the back of the card so I can keep track of how many days, weeks, months, etc, that I have recited the verse. Clear as mud?

Here’s the challenge part . . . memorize with me. Each week I’ll post the verse(s) that I’m working on and you leave a comment if you are participating. You don’t have to memorizing my verse, just add what verse you’d like to memorize for that week. You can memorize in whatever version suits you. To those of you who don’t know me, but visit my blog, you are invited to join in as well.

Finally, here’s a little incentive to play: all who participate for 10 weeks (on the honor system) will receive a little something made by me. If for some reason this challenge takes the blogging world by storm, then I will put a limit on how many can receive the prize.

So are you game?

Here’s the first verse. If you are like me, you generally know this verse, but haven’t committed all the words to memory.

Phil. 4:8 Finally brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on this things.

6 thoughts on “A Challenge

  1. I’m in. I was doing that until May and then my world went crazy and unfortunately I stopped memorizing and reviewing. Phil 4:8 was one I had done and kept until May and now I can’t quite get it all so I will do the same verse this time so I can re memorize it and keep it!!

Leave a Reply

